NBA Finals History Last 5 Years

The NBA Finals are the championship series of the league (NBA). A best-of-seven series between the champions of the Eastern and Western Conferences determines the league champion. The Larry O’Brien Trophy, which succeeded the Walter A. Brown Trophy in 1978, is awarded to the winner. Let’s recap what has been happening in the last five years.

NBA Finals History


There is a new NBA champion after fifty years. The Milwaukee Bucks won their first NBA title since 1971 after beating Phoenix in a six-game series. For the first time since the Cavaliers in 2016, the Bucks overcame a 2-0 deficit in the NBA Finals. Giannis Antetokounmpo was named MVP after scoring 50 points in the final game.


In Game 6 of the 2020 NBA Finals, the Los Angeles Lakers defeated the Miami Heat 106-93 to win their 17th championship. It is safe to say that LeBron James has now won four NBA titles.

LeBron James averaged 29.8 points, rebounds, and assists for the Los Angeles Lakers this season. With 28 points, 14 rebounds, and 10 assists, it was his ninth triple-double in the NBA Finals. He set a career best with 40 points, 13 rebounds, and seven assists in Game 5.

For the second time in his career, LeBron James was named Finals MVP, surpassing Michael Jordan. He and Michael Jordan are the only players to have earned MVP with three different teams, and he has four MVPs and four Finals MVPs.

Now, LeBron James can equal Michael Jordan’s all-time championship ring total of six. Jordan’s six championships have long been regarded as the finest evidence for GOAT designation. The gap between LeBron and the rest of the NBA has shrunk since his most recent championship.


The Toronto Raptors won their first NBA championship by defeating the Golden State Warriors 114-110. Despite Klay Thompson departing Oracle on crutches, Toronto won 4-2.
The Raptors led by one point with 18 seconds remaining.

To seal the championship, Leonard converted a technical free throw with 0.9 seconds remaining after Golden State had used all of their timeouts. Leonard’s buzzer-beater layup beneath Andre Iguodala was called back before he could try his two free throws. That effectively ended the festivities.

Leonard cried as soon as the horror was done. For the first time since the Toronto Blue Jays won the World Series in 1993, a Canadian team has won the championship in a traditional major sports league.


On Friday, the Golden State Warriors overcame the Cleveland Cavaliers 108-85 to capture their third NBA championship in four years. The Golden State Warriors took an early lead in their four-game sweep and never trailed again. At halftime, Curry scored 20 points, while Durant had a triple-double and was named MVP. Only the Boston Celtics and Los Angeles Lakers have won more NBA championships than the Golden State Warriors, who have six (16).


Even if there were a few anxious moments along the way, the conclusion was unaffected. J.R. Smith’s last-second put-back did not help the Cavaliers win Game 1 against the Warriors; the Cavs were defeated by the Warriors by a score of 10 points in overtime. In Game 3 in Cleveland, Durant scored 43 points, including the game-winning three-pointer in the final seconds. Golden State’s other two victories were by a total of 42 points.

The Warriors’ victories against LeBron James and the Cavaliers, their third in four years and second in a row, have solidified their place as one of the NBA’s elite teams. If Curry, Thompson, and Steve Kerr led a three-bombing upstart in 2015, and Kevin Durant joined that already deadly trio in 2017, this year’s victory represents a confident group. The Warriors looked to be solving a puzzle at times throughout the playoffs.

Also Read:

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *